Toyota Avensis, A Brief History

In 1997 the car maker Toyota introduced the successor to its popular Carina E model. The new addition was called the Toyota Avensis. This vehicle was manufactured in Derbyshire in the UK. Different body styles available in the Avensis were a four door saloon model, a five door lift back model, and a five door estate. The Avensis was created to give Toyota a more modern name when compared to the past model like the Carina or the Corona.

First Generation Toyota Avensis – 1997, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003

In 1997 the Avensis nameplate was introduced, while the vehicle was an extensive rework of the previous incarnation Carina E, the only common parts that remained the same were essentially the engines. The Avensis was produced along side the five doors Corolla.

The first release of the Avensis gave the option for four different engines, a 1.6, a 1.8 and 2.0 petrol or a 2.0 diesel variant. There were also three main body styles available, a saloon, a hatchback and an estate version. The entire range gave significant reliability, roomy interiors, very smooth ride and a solid build quality. This gave the feel that the Avensis was a much larger heavier vehicle than it actually was.

Second Generation Toyota Avensis – 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008

The second generation of the Avensis was based on more driver visual appeal and involvement; the same four engines were available along with the addition of a 2.4L from the Camry. This was the first Avensis to be exported to Japan.

The Camry wagon ceased production making the Avensis the largest Toyota saloon vehicle sold in Europe.

In 2006 the Avensis got a facelift, some of the changes that made this model differ were the inclusion of turn signals into the wing mirrors, a new front bumper and grille along with automatic headlights and a height adjustable front seat.

Third generation Toyota Avensis – 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011

The newest incarnation of the Avensis saw the vehicle with a much sleeker stance. Refinements were made to the suspension to allow the most comfortable ride as well as offering sporty handling. The safety standards have been brought up to include as standard seven airbags and the addition of brake lights that flash under emergency braking situations.

Engines by generation:

First Generation:

  • 1.6L-4AFE
  • 1.8L-7AFE
  • 2.0L-3SFE
  • 2.0L-1CD-FTV
  • 1.8L -1ZZ-FE
  • 2.0L-1AZ-FSE
  • 1.6L-3ZZ-FE

Second Generation:

  • 1.6L-3ZZ-FE
  • 1.8L-1ZZ-FE
  • 2.0L-1AZ-FE
  • 2.0L-1AZ-FSE
  • 2.0L-1CD-FTV
  • 2.4L-2AZ-FSE

Third Generation:

  • 1.6L-1ZR-FAE
  • 1.8L-2ZR-FAE
  • 2.0L-3ZR-FAE
  • 2.0L-D4D

Source by Wayne M Adams

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By :